Tree Coming Down

Standard

I had to work from my mother’s house today – the only place where the word ‘home’ sounds right. And I kept on looking at my tree. My tree? I don’t know how it became my tree. I guess my role in protecting it from my evil sisters 🙂 hehehee over the years. From the year that it was planted, my sisters kept on threatening to cut the tree down.  And each year, I kept on saying that they needed to wait till Christmas – my plan was to decorate the tree ‘just one time’. It has been  over 10 years now and I have never decorated the tree and neither has it been chopped to the ground.

Today, I noticed that the tree was thriving, as can be see in the picture below. But I also noticed that all the other shrubs and flowers around it are withering and dying off one by one. Hmmmm. Could it be that sometimes I also keep some things for too long that they become part of me and I don’t notice when my ‘natural behaviour’ causes havoc on other people around me? For example, does my being sarcastic wear some people down – maybe I am not even aware of my effect on other people when they are slowly dying? That tree taught me a lesson today. There are things that must come down. Otherwise, I will keep thriving while other people keep on dying.

 

 

What example can you give of things that need to come down in your life, in our society, in the world?

One response »

  1. Wow! interesting way of looking at it. so I guess,you will allow your “evil” sisters to chop it down so that the tress around it can thrive?

Leave a Reply

