Last man in

Standard

I live about 5 minutes away from my office. The day I got really stranded in traffic jam from my house to the office, it took me about 30 minutes for the commute. From my office to my house is another story all together. Worst time taken was 4 hours! That’s a story for another day.

Why is it a point to note that I live 5 minutes away from the office? It is because I am usually the last ‘man’ into the office. I am usually last to get into the office. The colleague who is always late to the office? Yes, that’s my hand raised up. There are colleagues who live 30 kilometers away, which translates into about 2 hours on the road sometimes due to traffic jam and yet they still get into the office before me! It is not something to be proud of, neither is it something that I would like to be known for……… Last year we had a company retreat and when it was announced that breakfast would be served at 7am – 7.30am many people were worried that I would die of hunger because I was definately going to miss breakfast.

Shock on them because it is their fault that I am now a perennial late comer. Before working with my current organisation, I worked with an organisation where it really didn’t matter whether you came into the office or not, just as long as you delivered on your key performance indicators – reports, interviews, etc. So one could work the whole night, send a report early in the morning and rock into the office at 11am. There was no one to look at the clock and scream ‘You are late’ or something similar.

Fast forward to my current organisation where I was informed (by my colleagues and my contract) that working hours were strictly 8.30am to 5.30pm. And I checked in at 8.15am on the first day. And I had to wait till 8.45am for the first person to come in TO OPEN THE DOOR!!! Hmmmm. Day 2, I checked in at 8.30am and had to wait till 9:00am. That did it, I decided that I would not wait for anyone to open the door for me. I would make sure that by the time I get to the office, a couple of people will have already passed through the doors and I would not need to wait…. So unless I have a meeting, I am not in the office before 9:00am. Now all of a sudden, people have started keeping time and get into the office at 8:00, 8:15 and latest 8:30.

So just because they have decided to keep time I should also change when they already conditioned me into waking up at 7.30am? Oh Lord, I need help. I am becoming very guilty because of my tardiness. I feel like such a &(^#&*@&*#

And it didn’t help when I got into the office at 8:15am the other day and the guards at the gate said, ‘Wow! Njenva! What is happening today? You are too early!” 😦

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

