Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club

Standard

Seeing as the initial venue for our office retreat was Zanzibar, I wasn’t too excited that we had to change the venue to the Fairmont at Mount Kenya.  But I felt much better once I remembered that spending a night there was part of my things to do before my next birthday….

Here are a couple of photos from the week spent there.

The grounds at the lodge.

The grounds at the lodge.

This was where I lay my head for the past week. Very comfortable I must say!

This was where I lay my head for the past week. Very comfortable I must say!

The fireplace in my cottage. This was not a decorative fire - it was desperately required.

The fireplace in my cottage. This was not a decorative fire – it was desperately required.

This maze is so amazing. :-) Went through it twice, once while blindfolded!

This maze is so amazing. 🙂 Went through it twice, once while blindfolded!

A hidden Mt.Kenya can barely be seen behind the clouds. We didn't get to see the mountain in its full glory seeing as the weather was foul throughout the time that we were there.

A hidden Mt.Kenya can barely be seen behind the clouds. We didn’t get to see the mountain in its full glory seeing as the weather was foul throughout the time that we were there.

We were trying to get a photo of us jumping and all we got was this fuzzy reminder of our effort......

We were trying to get a photo of us jumping and all we got was this fuzzy reminder of our effort……

Some people in the swimming pool

Some people in the swimming pool

A part of the grounds set aside for wedding ceremonies. Quite pretty.

A part of the grounds set aside for wedding ceremonies. Quite pretty.

The 'heated' pool. Heated NOTHING. Just some lukewarm water coming from two small holes on the side of the pool. Otherwise, totally freezing cold!

The ‘heated’ pool. Heated NOTHING. Just some lukewarm water coming from two small holes on the side of the pool. Otherwise, totally freezing cold!

The sitting area of my cottage. As you can clearly see, I closed the curtains during the day.... Please don't ask me why.

The sitting area of my cottage. As you can clearly see, I closed the curtains during the day…. Please don’t ask me why.

On another note, there is a whole bunch of photos I obtained from the time there that I am so going to use for blackmail purposes. Guys got so wasted during the drink up on the last night, the evidence of naughtiness in my camera is amazing. I truly thank God that I gave one of my colleagues my camera to play around with when I made a technical appearance at the drink up. Maybe, just maybe, one day I will put of some of the photos.

10 responses »

Leave a Reply

