Why I Have Stopped Saying “May All Your Dreams Come True”

Standard

I usually have very vivid dreams. I have always been a heavy sleeper so I suppose that I am very involved in my dreaming process. At some point, I thought that I was destined to be a ‘dreaming prophet’ because very many dreams that I had had, had come to pass. (Side note, three “hads” one after the other, in one sentence!!!! )

I dreamt about 9/11 and an Athi River train crash weeks before they happened. I have now come to learn the process of waking up to pray when I have a disturbing dream. Sometimes, I have such fun dreams I wake up feeling depressed about my awake life. But some things don’t change. Even in my dreams, I am scared of heights and of the dark.

There are some dreams that I have had since primary school. The same dream over and over, so when it starts, the “awake” Njenva says, ‘Oh boy, here we go again!!!!’ Only once or twice have these dreams changed and this is usually shocking to the “dreaming” Njenva. Because I know the script, I know who is supposed to say what and what is going to happen next. So when the script is altered, I wake up tired!

Okay, this post isn’t intended to spook you out…… although I was pleasantly surprised to find out that one of my friends has a “gift”…… She dreams about people she is yet to meet, about things that are going to happen, even about people’s true personalities! Too amazing, but also kinda scary.

Anyway, back to the reason why I am writing about dreams. I have realised that if all my actual dreams had come true, I would be in jail. I would have been charged with seven counts of bigamy. And that’s why I will stop telling people, “May all your dreams come true”

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

