Fashion Sense…..NOT

Standard

Since the incident with the pink trouser, I haven’t had the opportunity to fight with Mrs. Adrian about my clothing choices. I often fight with my sisters who say things like they are aren’t going to be seen with me in certain outfits. Previously, they have even taken photos to prove their point, see below.

I had worn white sports shoes, blue flowered socks, short trousers..... I was going with my sisters to a wedding...... FYI - I was COMFORTABLE!

I had worn white sports shoes, blue flowered socks, short trousers….. I was going with my sisters to a wedding…… FYI – I was COMFORTABLE! Those are Skinny’s toes trembling with the excitement of taking this photo…..

I had worn bata bullets without socks and three quarter shorts... I think we were going to a formal function

I had worn Bata bullets without socks and three quarter shorts… I think we were going to a formal function

Anyway, most of the fights involving clothes and Mrs. Adrian have been between Hipilicious and herself. When my uncle was hospitalized for one year, Hipilicious was required to take him food every single day because he couldn’t stand hospital food. And the issue that Mrs. Adrian had with Hipilicious was that she felt that the clothes her daughter was wearing were too tight.

You have to change your clothing

Why? I am comfortable

No, wear tops that cover your hips and trousers that aren’t too tight

I am going to wear what I like, thank you very much.

You are being unfair

Why? How?

You are walking in to a hospital ward full of men, wearing such tight clothing. And they are just there helpless and watching your every move….

*SHOCK*

I don’t think Hipilicious changed her dressing but even to date, she is always the one fighting with Mrs. Adrian over dressing.

Not me.

So yesterday when I took Mrs. Adrian to a tailor to pick up our outfits, we had a blown out argument that had me laughing so hard, other tailors stopped to stare. It was odd fighting with my mother about clothing, I usually fight with my sisters about dressing, not her!

Uuuuum, this dress is too long.

No it looks fine.

Please take off 4 inches from this dress. I had requested it to be above my knees

No, mummy, you cannot wear something that short (When she uses “mummy”, you know she is trying hard to be patient…..)

Yes, I am. And I will

How will you even bend?

I proceeded to show her.

Oh my goodness.

What did you see?

Nothing…… but the dress went up quite substantially

But did you see anything?

Mummy, you cannot wear such a short dress

Ma, have you seen photos of when you wore mini skirts?

Does that mean that you also have to wear the same length of skirts?

No, it doesn’t. But it means that you were comfortable that way, right?

That was a different era

Yap. And this is a different one!

This is IO’s fault. Are you facing peer pressure to wear short clothes because IO wears belts? (IO’s dresses are legendarily short and Mrs. Adrian had started calling them ‘belts’)

This is when I burst out laughing….. I laughed so hard that afterwards I felt sorry for Mrs. Adrian. She looked so hurt. I also laughed because I really wanted to see IO’s face when I told her this story – which I haven’t. So I decided not to shorten the dress. But I will be going back today to shorten it. I can’t wait to see Mrs. Adrian’s face when I wear the dress during a church function in the sticks.

9 responses »

  1. Njenva, did you say you were going to a WEDDING the first photo with the white sports shoes and to a formal function in the bata bullets WITHOUT socks? Wacha jokes lol. I am with your sisters on this one! I would do what I do to my mum. Hide her favorite mismatched outfit (one piece) either the shirt she absolutely has to wear with a particular pair of pants or the pants themselves. This is a habit I don’t intend to break. While am away I get “evidence” from my dad or sisters and when I come back home, she knows some things will be missing when I leave then she’ll see a relative in shags wearing them 🙂

    • Yeah….. That happened to me already. One day I woke up and I had no clothes to wear to work. They had been donated to the “mari mari” guy……..

  2. So inaonekana you had really jitolead the day we met 🙂 If you were my sister…there are many things I would do to ensure you don’t leave the house like that. Unless you were going to Jaffreys.

    • Hahahaha, aki you are killing me! Those photos are about 5 years old….. I now dress like that only when in shags…. it is really comfortable to dress like that……

  3. Haha you should try borrowing something from Mrs. Adrian’s closet…that will really confuse her then she won’t ask about your clothes…it worked for me- true story#

    On an unrelated note, this blog will get me fired…how now…I’ve been going through your posts all morning!! Slap me already!!

    • 😦 Mrs. Adrian is half my size and 3/4 of my height. Wearing her clothes would be too scandalous! And by the way, I rocked that dress on Saturday…..

      Please don’t get fired. And thanks a lot for reading and commenting.

  4. You rebellious child! 😀

    Go shorten it, kwani? I love short dresses and I support anyone who wears them. As long as they are not way up your thighs- which definitely I know they are not.

Leave a Reply

