My top 10 books of all time

Standard

Mr and Mrs. Adrian must have liked each other first because of their love of books. Even before I went to school, I must have known that there was something special with books. Mrs. Adrian prefers math to reading but she still reads quite a bit. It is a known fact that she still reads novels past 2am during the week and then struggles to wake up the next day to go to work. Mr. Adrian had so many books and I  feel so sad that by the time he died, he had moved his books to his brother’s house and we had no access to them. I remember him reading all the time. We were not allowed to speak either mother tongue or Swahili when he was alive. He wanted us to be proficient in the Queen’s language. Too bad, that strategy didn’t quite work……. 🙂

All the same, they must have passed on the reading bug to us because we love reading. At any given time, my sisters and I could be reading more than two books at once. If you were to rank us, Skinny would be at the top of the reading list, she started collecting for her library when she was very young. I suppose I would come second just because Hipilicious prefers magazines to books but she also reads quite a bit….

Anyway, I have been thinking about compiling a list of my top 10 books of all time…. It was hard. But here goes nothing! 🙂 What are your top 10 books of all time?

Number 10

The Silver Linings Playbook – Mathew Quick

Number 9

Eagle in the Sky – Wilbur Smith

Number 8

The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives – Lola Shoneyin

Number 7

Outliers: The Stories of Success – Malcolm Gladwell

Number 6

An Echo in the Darkness – Francine Rivers

Number 5

Doug and Carlie – Lisa Smarrt

Number 4

Evening Class – Maeve Binchy

Number 3

Prophet – Frank E. Peretti

Number 2

Stardust – Neil Gaiman

Number 1

The PresenceBill Myers

12 responses »

  1. Prophet – Frank E. Peretti

    I loved this one!!! And i am thinking of getting the Outliers…i have had good things.

    By the way; my first comment ever on your blog, it had to be something on books because i have the same bug.

  2. Outliers is in my top 3 reads. I bought it again two weeks ago. Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follet, Lots of Jeffrey Archers, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and the other two in that series.

    Can’t remember the rest.

    • I am surprised at myself. That no Jeffrey Archers made it to the top 10. Especially the short stories collections.Hmmmm, the Girl with the Dragon Tatooo…..should read that.

  3. I discover awesome writers every now and then, but I can’t turn a blind eye to books written by the following: John Grisham, Max Lucado, Lisa Smart(thanks to you) LN Cronk, Maeve Binchy, Francine Rivers and Nicholas Sparks.I wish Cosmoplotan had an author 🙂

Leave a Reply

