And The Earth is Still Rotating on It’s Axis – Invasion of the Dzarigutas

Standard

So after I couldn’t walk on the way to our family holiday and had to get admitted to hospital……. I got into the room that had been allocated to me and wasn’t unhappy at all! It overlooked the gardens and it was very spacious. Just like a hotel room but with a bed that had levers to change position and an emergency bell.

I was so excited after Masese left because it meant that I could now go to a bathroom. The painkiller had kicked in so my legs were not in so much pain. Why is this important? I had tried going to the bathroom the day before and since any movement involving my legs was excruciating, I had done a cost benefit analysis and decided not to visit the bathroom. And unless it is an emergency, I can’t go where there is someone else or in a public place. Yeah, I have bathroom issues. Anyway, I really needed to go. Since there were a few things missing from the room, Masese got me a nurse from the ward who would sort me out. Since I wanted total privacy and no chance of interruption…. I got into the bed to wait. And just dozed off a bit.

And woke up to it being a bit dark and with voices whispering

Is it her?

I am not sure she is facing the other side…

Is she asleep?

Yes

Should we wait here or go outside?

Let’s wait here so that when she wakes up she will find familiar faces.

 

So I turned to find my cousin’s wife with her son who is maybe 11? She was the one who had been asking the questions and her son had been providing answers! It was true, I was so glad that there were familiar faces when I woke up. I also found a couple of missed calls from Dzariguta people. I realized then that the smoke signal had been sent out. I had visitors till about 10pm that night. I was in a private room so there were no visiting hours, visitors could come in and go at what ever time they wanted. Thanks to all those who visited that first night, IMO and her hubby brought me dinner and stuff I now know I should take to someone who is admitted. More of this in another post.

The nurses came in to administer painkillers and check temperature, etc at regular intervals. At some point there was a lull and some guy walked in with some injections. He tried explaining that he was the nurse taking over the night shift and after I gave him one of my famous facial expressions, he showed me his staff card. He explained that he came in late and he decided to administer drugs before changing into his uniform. Then went on to say, “What you have is very serious. We are going to give you blood thinners so that the clots can start ‘melting’. We don’t want them to get to the lungs, heart or brain. This is very serious by the way. “ I don’t know what made him think that I didn’t know that things were serious seeing as I was admitted in hospital…. And that was when I received the most painful injections I had ever received in my whole life. I got injected on my arm three times because apparently the dosage provided was too small and the injections come ready to administer so they couldn’t mix them up into one injection….. As much as it was painful, the most scary part was that I could feel the medicine moving in my blood vessels. And when it got to my heart, I held my breath because I felt really weird. And not weird good. My cousins were back in the room when the medicine got to my heart and I couldn’t even explain to them how it felt. I made my will mentally.

My cousin-in-law (is there such a thing!) had taken her son home and came back to hang out and was the last one left when everyone said bye. Then she asked, “Is there anything you need before you sleep? Are you in pain? Can I get you anything from your bag (thank God we were travelling so I had my toiletries bag with me!) Do you want me to adjust the bed? Are you hungry? Are you thirsty” I think I have forgotten some of the questions she asked. I felt so taken care of. Then she began her going-to-sleep ritual and I realized that she was planning to spend the night! And she had come prepared. She had her pillows, duvet and night clothes! As in service at it’s best. Since my family couldn’t stay then she decided she was going to stay the night with me! The night was long. And I spent a lot of time looking at her sleeping (the bed was higher than the couch so I didn’t have to strain to see her!). I was awake for most of the night because I still had jetlag, I couldn’t believe that I had been admitted to hospital and I still hadn’t gone to the bathroom.

The nurses woke us up at 5am to take measurement of my vitals then delivered breakfast at 6am. I wasn’t hungry – all I really wanted were mahambris. I had been anticipating mahambris since Portland so I was saving my tastebuds for that. Just after the breakfast dishes were cleared, we heard a knock on the door then Jumwa’s mum and her two pals got in. All the way from Dzariguta land. Shock. My cousin excused herself to go back to her home and make mahambris. And I hang out with my auntie till maybe 10.30am when the doctors came and found us in deep Pentecostal prayers casting out all clots in Jesus name. They assessed the situation (I saw this, I opened my eyes….) and decided to leave. After the prayers, the doctors came back and provided a report on the situation.

Yes, they suspected blood clots. No, they hadn’t identified where they were. Yes, they thought it was a good idea to give me blood thinners, better be safe than sorry. No, they didn’t know when the radiologist would come to confirm their diagnosis. Yes, they would continue giving me painkillers. No, they had no idea when I would be discharged. Yes, I needed to rest a lot and not walk around. No, it is never a good idea to sleep during a long flight unless you are in first class with a reclining seat that is like a bed. Yes, you should drink lots of water during a long flight, maybe half a litre every hour at a minimum. No, the compression socks I had wouldn’t work well because they weren’t fitted (there goes my 3k, just like that!). Maybe I should get some rest now?

After the doctors left, it took me 10 minutes or so to realise that I was now alone in my room. ALONE. I rang the emergency bell and asked the nurse for a key to the main door. He informed me that they don’t provide keys for patients to lock themselves in rooms. Sigh. 10 minutes after he left, I was a very happy patient. To cut the long story short, I had visitors nearly every hour. The Dzarigutas came in droves. It is like there was a pre-arranged shift for visiting. I was admitted for 3 nights and I had visitors for maybe 90% of the time I was awake! It was sad that my cousin-in-law didn’t sleep over again but she sent over the most amazing mahambris ever! And I didn’t share them with anyone. Not even IMO who gave me puppy eyes.

Then I was thrown out of the hospital.

Coming Soon: Part 4 – Panic Attacks.

Leave a Reply

